Thursday, 18 December 2014


Wrath, Greed, Gluttony, Lust, Envy, Pride and Sloth. 
Sloth is the seventh and last of the seven mortal sins series.

Sloth is one of the seven deadly sins in Christian moral tradition, particularly within Catholicism, referring to laziness.
Sloth is defined as spiritual or emotional apathy, neglecting what God has spoken, and being physically and emotionally inactive. It can also be either an outright refusal or merely a carelessness in the performance of one's obligations, especially spiritual, moral or legal obligations. Sloth can also indicate a wasting due to lack of use, concerning a person, place, thing, skill, or intangible ideal that would require maintenance, refinement, or support to continue to exist.
Religious views concerning the need for one to work to support society and further God's plan and work also suggest that, through inactivity, one invites the desire to sin. 

Medieval theologian Thomas Aquinas said Sloth is:
"sluggishness of the mind which neglects to begin good... [it] is evil in its effect, if it so oppresses man as to draw him away entirely from good deeds." 


  1. Han, thank you for this special review of human weaknesses.
    Sometimes I wonder why only seven categories.
    Look at the world, how it looks ... thankfully people who have much more than the 7 deadly sins.

    Take carr,
    Mona Lisa

    1. I agree with you Mona Lisa, the seven do not cover them all. What for me was so interesting in this series was the documentary have the sins became "mortal sins:, invented by man. Not a word in the bible about them. This is fascinating.

      Thank you for your comment,


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...